Book review: Magpie Murders

User avatar
Siobhan Burke
No broom
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:09 pm
Location: Here on Earth

Book review: Magpie Murders

Post by Siobhan Burke » Mon Dec 24, 2018 5:25 am

Title of the book: Magpie Murders
Author: Anthony Horowitz
Genre: Murder Mystery

Date finished: 23/12

Magpie Murders is a very clever mystery with an interesting format and a twist, I picked the book from the library because I liked the cover and I knew of the author, not knowing that it would slot perfectly into another reading challenge with very specific prompts,

While the central mystery itself is a tale in the vein of Poirot and Frost, the book also pays homage to a wide variety of authors including Agatha Christie, Arthur Conan Doyle and many others. On top of being a very engaging 'whodunnit', Magpie Murders is a book about books (which made it perfect for my goodreads challenge prompt) and sheds light on the inner workings of writers. Even though the book was more than 500 pages long, I read it in just over a day.

Return to “The Bookshelf”